2011-01-06 / Sports

Marmonte salutes top pigskin players

Nick Isham nearly led Westlake High’s football team to back-to-back CIF-Southern Section Northern Division titles.

The senior quarterback was honored for his achievements by being named the Marmonte League’s MVP.

Other standout student-athletes also gleaned gridiron recognition from the Marmonte.

Richard Mullaney, nicknamed the Great White Buffalo by Thousand Oaks students, set a California state record with 122 receptions in a single season.

The Lancer senior is the Receiver of the Year.

Westlake’s Justin Solis is the Defensive Lineman of the Year while fellow Warrior Nelson Spruce is the Defensive Back of the Year.

St. Bonaventure’s Marc Evans, Luke Meyer and Jalen Jefferson were honored as the league’s top offensive back, offensive lineman and linebacker, respectively.

First-team offensive standouts are Westlake’s Tavior Mowry, Keith Ramljak and Alex Ball; David Barrajas, Thomas McNutt and Avondre Bollar of Thousand Oaks; Royal’s Armando Reynoso; Oaks Christian’s Austin Carey, Blair Holliday and Jordan Payton; Newbury Park’s Robert Chen, Dakota Dunlea and Jake Geringer; Moorpark’s Curtis Arndt, Jerry Shumway and Tyler Peterson; Michael Edwards of Calabasas; Agoura’s Corey Da Silva and Gerard Poutier; and St. Bonaventure’s Christian White and Shaun Wick.

First-team defensive stars are Westlake’s Johnny Stuart, Kenneth Ah-Ching, Max Winsberg, Dashon Hunt and Casey Bliss; Moorpark’s Jake Woolley, Quinn Bauducco, Bobby Anzures, Jayce Foster and Alex Nelson; Oaks Christian’s Dillon van der Wal, Carlos Mendoza and Brian Fifita; Mason Huether of Royal; Thousand Oaks’ Travis Key and Alex Singleton; Newbury Park’s Cayden Malpasuto; Shane Bick of Calabasas; and St. Bonaventure’s Eric Schneider, Cody Kurz, Bobby Marquez and Tanner Souza.

Second-team offensive players are Westlake’s Jordie Hannel and Jared Fry; Agoura’s Will Snyder, Kyle London and Stephen Yang; Moorpark’s Brandon Flynn, Cheldon West and Grant Rohach; Simi Valley’s Tanner Geiger and Beau Sandland; Thousand Oaks’ Garrett Poteet and Rickey Minyard; Richie Harrington of Oaks Christian; Royal’s Alex Wardle and Kyle Gauthier; and St. Bonaventure’s Westin Gregg, Jeremy Sanchez and Diamond Shouder.

Second-team defense players are Dane Griffin, Nathan Debeikes and L.J. Wiley of Thousand Oaks; Royal’s Chris Pinneri, Codey Mann and Ethan LaVoie; Oaks Christian’s Devoreaux Stewart and Cameron Judge; Newbury Park’s Calvin Carter; Cash Barden and Kevin Beams of Agoura; Jens Jeters of Simi Valley; Westlake’s Jack Shepherd and Jose Muguerza; Moorpark’s Quinn Harris; and St. Bonaventure’s Adrien Torres, Andrew Frantela and Paul Thompson.

Honorable mention offensive nods go to Royal’s Brett Rampton, Trevor Kanteman, Robert Gormaz and Zach Collins; Simi Valley’s Damien Corral, Steven Deadwylier, Eric Pinkston, Jordan Thiel and Jake Maranto; Thousand Oaks’ Josh Mullen and Landon Poling; Moorpark’s Jacob Precourt, Marcos Gomez, Kevin Keane, Anthony Peterson, Alex Tolliver, Patrick Blandin, Brady Barnhart, Kevin Barker, Lionel Poole, Jayson Fisher, Garrett Dibene and Aaron Stanton; Oaks Christian’s Robert McGee, Marcus Piechowski, Kyle Smith, Trey Smith, Brett Medders and Chris Davis; Agoura’s Sean Donnelly, Dominic Lenzo and Josh Weinberger; Newbury Park’s Andrew Gessler, Cameron Wood and Taylor Zander; Calabasas’ John Dehhaghi, Alex Varonos, Tyson Jones and Tai Kusakawa; Westlake’s Tony Mekari, Anthony Davanzo, Javier Aguilera, Tre’shon Wilson and Cody Tuttle; and St. Bonaventure’s Josh Grajeda and Travis Gregg.

Honorable mention defensive players are Simi Valley’s Ryan St. Peter, Stratton Wolf, Cody Pietro and Matt Baynard; Royal’s Andrew Whitley; Thousand Oaks’ Dillon Tunney, Steven Townsley, Michael Feistel and Blake Howell; Agoura’s Drew Jordan, Michael Kay, Wesley Rowell, Kamron Daftari, Jimmy Nguyen and Julian Patton; Westlake’s Shayne Henley, Dylan Ray and Justin Moore; Calabasas’ Jake Hayes, Emilio Perez, Brett Schwartz and Ronnie Gutierrez; Oaks Christian’s Marcus Jones, Ronny Camacho, Cole Brownell, Austin Bucceri and James Thomas; Moorpark’s Max Maccani, Tyler Puccio, Jonathan Wolverton, Tony Mack, David Gonzalez, Christian Dearborn and Lance Poole; and Newbury Park’s Michael DiFronzo and Max Lunn.

Editor’s note: The Acorn has yet to receive All-Marmonte lists for the remaining fall sports. When we get them, they will be published.

Return to top